The Blogger

My photo
Davao City, Region XI, Philippines

Tuesday, April 29, 2008

The 7 Deadly Sins vs 7 Heavenly Virtues

The Catholic Church has set the 7 capital sins. These sins are deadly that the church considers these as severe and mortal that can destroy grace of life and create eternal damnation. It sounds scary. Truly it is. I too am scared of where these sins may lead me or us. And ignorance can't excuse us. That is why I want to inform every person about what are these and how these are done.


The Seven Deadly Sins is a painted rectangle with a central image of the eye of God, with Christ watching the world. The Seven Deadly Sins, depicted through scenes of worldly transgression, are arranged around the circular shape. The circular layout with god in the centre represents gods all seeing eye No sin goes unnoticed. In the corners of the image appear the "Four Last Things" mentioned in late medieval spiritual handbooks: Deathbed, the Last Judgment, Heaven, and Hell, all of which are favorite themes of separate Bosch panels.

  • Pride is excessive belief in one's own abilities, that interferes with the individual's recognition of the grace of God. It has been called the sin from which all others arise. Pride is also known as Vanity.

  • Envy is the desire for others' traits, status, abilities, or situation.

  • Gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires.

  • Lust is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.

  • Anger is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury. It is also known as Wrath.

  • Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain, ignoring the realm of the spiritual. It is also called Avarice or Covetousness.

  • Sloth is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work.

These deadly sins can be countered by the virtues taught by the church.


  • Chastity (Latin, Castitas) (purity, opposes Lust, Latin Luxuria):Embracing of moral wholesomeness and achieving purity of body and thought through education and betterment.
  • Temperance (Latin, Temperantia) (self-control, opposes Gluttony, Latin Gula):Practicing self-control, abstention, and moderation.
  • Charity (Latin, Liberalitas) (will, generosity, opposes Greed, Latin Avaritia):Generosity. Willingness to give. A nobility of thought or actions.
  • Diligence (Latin, Industria) (ethics, opposes Sloth, Latin Acedia):A zealous and careful nature in one's actions and work. Decisive work ethic. Budgeting one's time; monitoring one's own activities to guard against laziness.
  • Patience (Latin, Patientia) (peace, opposes Wrath, Latin Ira):Forbearance and endurance through moderation. Resolving conflicts peacefully, as opposed to resorting to violence. The ability to forgive; to show mercy to sinners.
  • Kindness (Latin, Humanitas) (satisfaction, opposes Envy, Latin Invidia):Charity, compassion, friendship, and sympathy without prejudice and for its own sake.
  • Humility (Latin, Humilitas) (modesty, opposes Pride, Latin Superbia):Modest behavior, selflessness, and the giving of respect. Giving credit where credit is due; not unfairly glorifying one's own self.

I hope this blog helps. We may not be perfect, we may sin at times but be reminded that we can repent and ask Jesus' forgiveness. We have a choice. We may choose to be good or to be bad. It's either you follow Satan or God; Deadly Sins or Heavenly Virtues? Hope you make this choice right.

Related Posts by Categories

Widget by Scrapur